top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVincent Apa

Dance Movements and Choreography Are a Way of Speaking for this Young Woman

The K-Pop industry is valued at way over $5 billion USD and very popular all over the world. Why is this? Catchy beats and lyrics, but also well-choreographed large group dancing. The music is generally very cheerful, mixes numerous languages in the song, blends some rap, and brings a little spiciness. I think the facet that gets the least attention is the choreography and precise dance movements.


Current releases by Hwa Sa (Maria) and Jessi (Nuna Nana) showcase some of this raw talent and creativity. But enough with those celebrities…My intent is to showcase a young woman who found her voice through dance and choreography.


I am also a firm believer of young people finding positive outlets to build teams with others of similar interests whether it be playing chess or handball, reading, or philanthropic activities to help others. There are endless opportunities that cost little money and can be done safely even during a pandemic.


So back to the focus of this article...


Youran Lee is a Korean American woman born in Suwon, South Korea, grew up in San Diego, and is currently living in Manhattan. We were connected by our Korean language teacher in NYC. An interview was conducted on August 7, 2020 by phone and the following is a summary of the conversation. I enjoyed the discussion and her perspective greatly.



Q: Give me a little history on how you got started in dancing, education and career switch.

A: I graduated from NYU in 2018 with a degree in applied psychology and shortly after realized it was not my true passion. I really wanted to work with people in a different manner. In June 2019, I applied for a 4 month program for aspiring professional dancers. I got accepted and it allowed me to envision what life could be like as a professional dancer. However, I worried what my parents would think and if they would support my decision, as they are very traditional. I went home and talked with them prior to starting the program. My father was very supportive to my surprise. He told me there were many things he wished he had done in his 20s, and he doesn’t want me to live with the same regrets. My mother, on the other hand, was a little concerned about my mental health and how I would support myself financially, but in the end said to work hard towards what I love and she would be supportive. My parents saw that my joy when dancing was genuine; that was very important to me before I continued forward.


Backtracking, I started dancing when I was 9 with tap and jazz. As a kid, I was very shy and did not talk a lot. In fact, I did not say a word when at the dance studio. For me, being able to move was my way of speaking at that time. I started hip hop dance in middle school and met great teachers who believed in me. It was also the first time I had Peope of Color teachers.


For me, hip hop gave me freedom as other styles felt more rigid, such as ballet. In high school, I stopped training hard in all other dance forms, and joined a hip hop dance crew for the first time. I started talking more, made dance friends, and practiced with others, unlike for years when I just practiced by myself. I also had lots of time to rehearse with others. We had “hell weeks” where we would rehearse intensely every day before a performance. It was physically difficult, but it brought us together as a team.


I became captain of my high school’s hip hop dance team shortly thereafter and really found my voice through the various competitive dance teams. Soon, I was off to college at NYU and joined The Neighbors, a team that really valued and believed in me. I became friends with others quickly and my personality fully came out. One year later, I became the artistic director as the youngest team member. I continued as a dancer on the team for 3.5 years and then wanted to explore the world outside of the competitive realm.


Q: What does dance mean to you?

A: In San Diego, it was not common for people to become a professional dancer and it was more of a hobby. In NY, it is more industry and commercial based. It was common for me to see my friends dancing in music videos or award shows. This made me realize that my dreams could be in reach and that my love for the arts could be more than just a hobby. In NY, the team scene is newer than in CA, so there are less recreational dancers in NY. However, recreational and professional styles are fusing in NY now and many in the team scene want to become professional. It is changing the dynamic, with increasing competition, but also shattering stereotypes and ceilings.


In the commercial scene, appearance is still important with casting calls for specific ethnicities. It is frustrating at times that some still are looking for only Caucasian women of a certain height. If you are a minority, options are still limited, but diversity is becoming more “embraced” or popular now. However, I believe there are still Eurocentric standards of beauty in the industry.


I believe that the people doing the hiring have to be more open, but it will take more time. I believe minorities should make their own opportunities if they want to, however, we did not create the standards or systems that made entering this industry difficult for us, so I do not believe that we should be solely responsible for creating that change. In the end and regardless of obstacles, I feel that what is right for you will come to you (maybe not what you want at first, but what you need) if you work hard and believe in the work that you do.


Q: Would you be comfortable discussing the BLM movement and how it has impacted you and your field of dance?

A: Sure. BLM in 2020 has created a space for people to understand how racism is prevalent in every field. In dance, for example, hip hop was created by Black and Latino communities as a reaction to violence and racist government policies in the Bronx in the 1970s. While it was a way for Black and Latino youth to express themselves in this unique and genuine way, it has been commercialized for profit and turned into something different over time. As a dance teacher that does mostly hip hop, I have reflected on my teaching methods and restructured my classes to make sure my students know that we are not just doing moves, but participating t in someone else’s culture.


I really believe the way we move comes from our ancestry and experiences whether good or bad. Hardship such as slavery and being neglected by your government create things your body remembers inherently from the pain and violence. Although of course this is not the same, I like to think of this like the Korean “Han” or concept of an emotion, typically described as some form of grief from tragedy, flowing through me, even though grew up in the U.S.A.


I have always valued education, but more so these days and try to keep abreast of current issues. For example we used to call this particular dance style that I do “Urban Dance” because we did not consider it pure hip hop, but rather choreography inspired by hip hop, jazz and other elements. We thought it was a way to respect the creators of hip hop, but many people noted that “urban” can be a degrading term. I learned from an Instagram live class I took by Moncell Durdent that “urban” was a way to describe Black people, without giving them the proper credit for their work. So for now, I just call my dancing choreography that is inspired by Hip Hop and other forms of dance, and will continue to evolve on the name as is fit.


Q: Your style of dance is very theatrical. Did you ever act? You have a certain aura and charisma that shines on stage like during the Boss in the Mirror audition.

A: I was in high school theater for only one year, but grew up in church, where I did skits. However, I never had formal training. It is something I want to get into it more. Many dancers want to show themselves in a light that is different than who they are in their everyday life.


Q: How do you develop a concept for new dance?

A: It depends what for and is different if choreographing for class than a performance.

If for class, I think of a song that makes me want to get up and dance to and what the students need or may benefit from at a particular time. If for performance, I think of stories to tell (a personal one or about others, generally with an overarching theme). I also think of people I want to collaborate with while constructing the piece or dance with. I do web searches for “pictures” which are frozen poses to highlight a move/formation which creates imagery, and other dance videos for inspiration. I find the music first and like using word play in a song that I can emulate with movements to further tell a story and strengthen it. The story is not always chronological like a movie, but a concept or theme.



I like to use more than 10 people and believe in the power of strength in numbers. I write down sections of what I am dancing about and note certain times in the song where I can combine a strong idea with a picture. I then work on the choreography by filming myself, and make small edits. Lastly, I teach it to others. If a tweak is needed, I may change the “pictures”.


The ending or final pose can be a picture, but sometimes I like it when we are still moving, so it depends. There is a balance of when to use pictures so it is powerful. I also like the piece to ebb and flow, and not hang high or low the whole time. The variation within the performance is important.


Q: How do you select music and is the beat or lyrics more important?

A: I like lyrics more, but for some of my friends the beat is more important and is what stands out. It is important to train your ears to listen to music differently.

Q: Have you had any good dance instructors, mentors or people who inspire you?

A: One person that comes to mind is my teacher from my middle/high school years whom I trained with for 5 years-- KJ Gonzalez. I consider him a big reason why I am still dancing and became the person I am today. He was one of the first teachers to notice me and tell me to own my talent and confidence by standing in the front of class more. This greatly impacted and increased my self-esteem. Some days in class, we would not dance, but KJ would just talk about his experiences in being a professional dancer. I was starry eyed as a young person. He was dancing on tours such as with the Cheetah Girls, and he really set the standard for me of what a successful dancer looks like. He was also Filipino in an all-white studio, which helped me shatter so many stereotypes about what Asian people could do.

Q: Some of these dances are such high intensity. How does the team stay energized and how long is a typical practice?

A: Rehearsals are 3 to 4 hours with small breaks sometimes, sometimes not. As a kid in high school, I practiced in preparation for competitions every day from 4 – 10 pm. We were not dancing the entire time, but it was still exhausting. We also had conditioning days with running, pushups, etc. I do not consider myself athletic, so it is challenging. Dance unlike other sports have long periods of learning the pieces and standing around, and short periods of extreme activity, as compared to say soccer. You rest, go hard for 10 minutes, rest again and repeat.

Performances are usually 5 to 6 minutes long, but we practice for 4 to 5 months. The season is typically a school semester in length.

Q: I noted how I studied taekwondo for 5 years and appreciate the intense training of a mentally and physically challenging activity. The forms in taekwondo are beautiful, especially when performed by large groups in unison. Do you think you will mix any taekwondo into your routine?

A: Maybe I will fuse taekwondo in the future! I am interested in martial arts in general.

Q: What’s next for you Youran?

A: Right now, I am focusing on teaching my online classes and private lessons (online or outdoors with masks). It has been uplifting since I’ve missed dancing and connecting with people. Once things get back to normal, I want to teach in Korea and choreograph for Korean artists. I was actually a backup dancer for BTS 2 years ago, and this experience made me want to do work in Korean entertainment and give back in some way.


I want to try everything and decide from there what to do. Dancing may seem like a limited profession, but you can be a dancer, own/run a studio, be a choreographer, be an assistant and more. I just want to try it all while I am young and learn as much as possible.


Here is Youran’s web page for those interested in lessons or more information. https://www.youranlee.com/


All photos are from Youran Lee's web page and credit given.

Vincent L. Apa III

August 17, 2020

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page